2Pavel Kolesnikov Copyright Eva Vermandel
Symphony Hall | Classical
Price: £13.00 - £48.00 inc. per ticket commissionSave when you buy online – see Ticket Info


Joana Mallwitz
Pavel Kolesnikov
City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra


Dances of Galánta, 15’
Piano Concerto No. 1, 33’
Symphony No. 3 (Scottish), 39’

We are sorry to announce that pianist Gabriela Montero has had to withdraw from this performance due to injury. We are grateful to Pavel Kolesnikov for stepping in at extremely short notice. The programme remains the same as advertised and we very much hope that you enjoy the performance.

A February afternoon in Birmingham – and who couldn’t do with a good holiday? Let us take the strain, as conductor Joana Mallwitz whirls you away on a colourful cross-European roadtrip, from the flying fiddles of Kodály’s Hungary to the Highland mists of Mendelssohn’s Scottish symphony. Plus a stop-over in Imperial Russia for Tchaikovsky’s magnificent and much-loved First Piano Concerto.

CBSO+ 1pm: Conductor Joana Mallwitz in conversation with CBSO violinist Catherine Arlidge MBE.

Travelling from Cheltenham? A coach service is available to Symphony Hall for this concert and can be added to your basket when you click 'buy tickets'.


Symphony Hall

Symphony Hall, Birmingham, B1 2EA
Loading map...
Ticket info / offers