Volkov Conducts Brahms
Symphony Hall | Classical
CBSO 2017-18 Season

Volkov conducts Brahms

Price: £13.00 - £48.00 inc. per ticket commissionSee ticket info


Ilan Volkov
Alisa Weilerstein
City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra


Simon Holt
Surcos (CBSO co-commission, UK premiere), 7’
Cello Concerto No. 2, 33’
Brahms (orch. Schoenberg)
Piano Quartet in G minor, 43’

The most enjoyable symphony that Brahms never wrote? One’s thing for sure: this orchestral version of his First Piano Quartet is definitely flamboyant! But then, Ilan Volkov is a conductor who makes every concert into an adventure. Joining him today is one of the most exceptional cellists of her generation – in Shostakovich’s punchy Second Concerto – plus British sonic magician Simon Holt, who’s created a typically ravishing new work.

CBSO+ 6.15pm: A pre-concert sharing from a CBSO Learning & Participation project.


Symphony Hall

Symphony Hall, Birmingham, B1 2EA
Loading map...
Ticket info / offers