Rush hour blues audience award 2010

Fans of the popular Rush Hour Blues jazz sessions have a chance to help choose their favourite act from the past year once again by casting their vote towards the annual Audience Award 2010.

See the full list of musicians – ranging from solo artists to trios to orchestras – who featured in the year long programme of gigs and vote online here

Voting cards will also be available from the leaflet desk at Rush Hour Blues every Friday between now and the closing date, and can be posted or put in the ballot box during the performances.

The winner of the Audience Award 2010 will play a special concert on Friday 3 June 2011 at Symphony Hall.

Voting closes at 5pm on 18th February 2011.

Rush Hour Blues, which is presented by the city?s leading contemporary jazz programmers Birmingham Jazz, regularly attracts audiences of up to 400 people or more – with some regulars arriving up to two hours in advance to guarantee seats – and has become an essential part of the City?s musical fabric.

The weekly Friday session has showcased emerging talent from across the UK and beyond for over 7 years. Artists including Soweto Kinch, Cleveland Watkiss and Andy Hamilton have played at the session and previous winners of the Audience Award include Bryan Corbett and the Walsall Jazz Youth Orchestra with 2009 seeing the Birmingham University Jazz Orchestra and Chris Aldridge & Beebe winning joint first place.

Rush Hour Blues is free and takes place every Friday between 5.30pm – 7.00pm in the Symphony Hall Level 3 Bar.