Young Pilgrims Releases New Single 'Canal Tripping'

Young Pilgrims, who performed at the Hare and Hounds in November as part of Town Hall Symphony Hall’s Jazzlines programme, have released the second of two singles from their forthcoming studio album (late 2019).

Town Hall Symphony Hall’s Jazzlines is a unique programme that offers performance opportunities to emerging and established contemporary jazz musicians as part of a thriving, artistically excellent programme in venues across the city. Its innovative commissioning, touring and talent development programmes enable the now flourishing Birmingham scene to progress which has shaped a sustainable and creative environment for young emerging jazz musicians to develop.

Written in homage to trombonist front-man Richard Foote’s unfortunate plunge from his bike into one of Birmingham’s canals, this tribute charts his watery adventure, whilst giving a nod to the now legendary passerby who saved Richard, his bike and his trombone from the depths of the waterways.

Young Pilgrims’ adventurous brass-heavy, rock-influenced sound is brought together by their explosive nine-strong line-up, featuring trumpets and trombones alongside the baritone sax, sousaphone and two drummers driving the band’s high-energy rhythmic groove.

Growing out of the thriving Birmingham jazz scene in 2013, Young Pilgrims have found themselves drawing fans from across Europe and beyond with their intense live performances - from the Commonwealth Games to London’s South Bank, the Paris Jazz Festival to Love Supreme Festival.

With improvising invention set against their infectious melodies, the band follow their 2016 debut (Little Things) with their first fully produced studio album due late this year on Stoney Lane Records, with a unorthodox tour of Britain’s provincial bandstands, summer festivals and autumn album tour taking their imaginative music across the UK.

Young Pilgrims are:

Trombones : Richard Foote, Kieran McLeod 

Trumpets : Mike Adlington, Sean Gibbs, Sam Wooster 

Sousaphone : Michael Owers Baritone 

Saxophone : Chris Maddock 

Drums : Jonathan Silk, Euan Palmer